Lemon Cream Cheesecake – Woolworths Taste

 

This is hands-down the best cheesecake I have ever eaten, let alone made.

I am a huge fan of Lemon Meringue Pie, but often find that it is just too sweet to manage (this coming from the biggest sweet tooth out there).  I am not the biggest fan of cheesecake, as I find it too savoury and heavy.  Siba Mtongana has married the two and created the most amazing dessert, ever.

Sweet, but not too sweet, this cheesecake is the mother of all cheesecakes, having substance, gorgeous lemon zest, perfectly sugary meringue topping and the most decadent and incredible base.

It baked perfectly, the consistency is everything you hope for in a cheesecake, you can slice and cut and serve this easily and get the WOW factor from your guests.  The entire table went into a food coma when this was served.

If I ever become famous for bringing a dessert to parties, THIS here, is it.

ingredients:

Base:

2 x 200g packets of tennis biscuits

160g toasted desiccated coconut

250g melted butter

Filling:

2 x 250g tubs of cream cheese

2 x 398g cans of condensed milk

4 free range egg yolks

2T lemon zest

3/4 cup of fresh lemon juice

Topping:

4 free range egg whites

220g castor sugar

1/4 cup desiccated coconut

50g pecan nuts chopped

I preheated the oven to 220degrees C and greased my springform tin (roughly 22cm) with butter.  I crumbed my biscuits in the blender till fine while quickly toasting my coconut.  (Keep an eye on this and keep it moving as it toasts quickly!)  I mixed the biscuit, coconut, salt and melted butter and pressed into the base of the springform tin, and made sure that it came up all the way on the sides to hold the cake nicely.

For the filling I whisked the cream cheese till smooth while adding little bits of condensed milk at a time until completely combined.  I stirred in the egg yolks, then the lemon zest and then the lemon juice and mixed well.  I poured the filling over the base and I baked for 15 minutes, (make sure it has set).  I removed from oven and set aside to cool.

For the topping, I beat the egg whites until soft peaks formed, then added the sugar bit by bit while beating, till stiff peaks formed.  I spooned this onto the cooled tart, sprinkled the topping coconut and nuts and baked for another 15-20 minutes, till the meringue was golden.

Effort : Some – we hand-beat the meringue to achieve these stiff peaks (we, because we took turns!)

Time : 40 mins, which is quite quick!

Appearance : 9/10 – I just want to applaud how well this cake serves, the toasted coconut and pecan nuts on top toast beautifully

Taste : 10/10 and a standing ovation

Would I make this again?  “I’ll bring dessert!”

