Double Chocolate Cookies – Jamie Oliver – Ministry of Food

 

Fabulously easy and delicious, this recipe is from Jamie Oliver‘s Ministry of Food:

Ingredients for about 15 cookies:

125g butter

100g unrefined golden caster sugar (I used normal castor sugar as we don’t have golden in South Africa)

1 large egg

100g plain flour

15g porridge oats

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

50g white chocolate (I used  Milky bar which I hammered until finer pieces)

50g dark chocolate (I found choc chips)

I combined the butter and sugar with my mixer, then added the (already lightly beaten) egg to this and mixed well.  I then sieved my flour into the bowl and then added the oats, baking powder and salt and mixed all this until smooth, with my mixer.  Once all mixed I added my chocolate and mixed through with a spoon.  I then poured this batter out onto clingfilm and rolled this out into a sausage about 7cm in diameter and stuck it into the freezer.  After half an hour it had solidified nicely enough to make this much easier to cut, and I cut the cookies about half a centimetre thick (or only slightly thicker) and placed on a baking tray which I had lined with waxed paper.

Jamie’s recipe mentioned that you should leave enough space on the tray as the cookies spread, and they really do spread outwards by about 30-40%, so be aware of this when spacing. I baked them 8-10 minutes (but keep a close eye on them as they can turn brown quickly).  After they had cooled slightly I put them on a wire rack to cool.  I think I then put them into a plastic container too soon as they softened up again slightly, Jamie’s recipe does mention they will crisp up nicely if you leave them on the rack to do so!

Effort : Relatively low for really delicous cookies

Time :  45 mins to 1 hour

Appearance : 6/10 – they look like average cookies

Taste : 8/10 they are really good, I had to suggest we limit our consumption of these devils!

Would I make this again?  Definitely!

